Ohio Attendance and Turancy Law

The Ohio General Assembly passed House Bill 410 that went into effect in the 2018-2019 school year. With this law, all Ohio school districts are required to notify parents of specific accumulated excused and unexcused absences during the school year.

With this law, two categories of accumulated absences were created: Excessive Absences and Habitual Truant.

Excessive absences:
“Absent 38 or more hours in one school month with or without a legitimate excuse, or
Absent 65 or more hours in one school year with or without a legitimate excuse."

Habitual truant is defined by:
“Absent 30 or more consecutive hours without a legitimate excuse;
Absent 42 or more hours in one school month without a legitimate excuse; or
Absent 72 hours or more in one school year without a legitimate excuse."

If a student meets the above criteria, the law requires each school district to notify parent/custodian/guardian of this information in writing. Therefore, if your student goes beyond these requirements, we will send you a letter in the mail. In addition, the school district is required to notify the Ohio Department of Education through our state reporting system.

Districts are also required to develop an Absence Intervention Team (AIT) to work with the parent/custodian/guardian and student on improving attendance to school. If the student does not make progress on the plan within 61 days or continues to be excessively absent, the law requires the district to file a complaint in juvenile court.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.